[blog] Is it an age thing?


What does age have to do with exercise?

Well, it has a lot to do with it. Some of it is logical of course, meaning it is somewhat unlikely for a 96 year run a mile at the same pace as someone in their 20’s.  Yes, that is logically thinking, but the flip side of that, is that it is a mindset as well.

Afterboot camp a few weeks ago, some of the campers stayed around and talked and one question came up about the “age” of someone who exercises and when they should stop.

The question was: “should I be doing some of these exercises at my age”?

This was an excellent question and my response was “you’re never too old to exercise”.  As I proceeded to explain the benefits and reasons of the importance of exercise in our later years, I also stated to the person that since you can do the exercises at your age should mean a lot!  The camper laughed and agreed.

We went on to discuss how some of the younger folks can not keep up with the “older” ones in the camp at times.  One camper suggested it was the mindset of those over 40 who tend to push thru things. Whereas, the younger ones seem to take a break, look around or say it’s too hard…..is this because this is a day and time of instant gratification without working for it?

 

I started to think about the other classes that I teach and the range of ages in the class. And it seems there was some credibility to that statement about mindset of those over 40.  Hmmm..do the ones over 40 really push a little harder to get thru it? And if so,why, and what is the motivation?  The challenges are there; and they meet and overcome them.

And it is true that you have to have a mindset change in order to live a healthy lifestyle.

As we continued to talk it seemed that the consensus was that if you are over 40, you seem to push thru it; no matter how difficult the challenge.

In no way  am I saying that the under 40 crowd who exercise are slackers or are not giving 100%, because I do know some under 40 who are go-getters and giver their all-n-all! What I’m saying is that there seems to be a difference when it comes to working out- younger vs. older.  And I guess this discussion could really go both ways.

   

So, what’s age got to do with it? 

I’d like to hear your take on this – both under and over 40.  is there some truth about what I’ve blogged about?  Let me hear from you!   Let me get about 15 comments and the next blog will have a workout for you.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “[blog] Is it an age thing?”

  1. Omar El Haj Musa Says:

    Its true. at 30 I am so amazed by the work ethic of some of our more seasoned members. Go get em!
    -Omar

  2. Robin Says:

    When I was young I worked out to look better. I did it, if I’m honest, for other people. I work out now for me. I want to see if I can do what you ask of us, and the hidden bonus is I’m more fit now than ever before.

Leave a Reply

